Interview with Joe Aboud, Founder of 444 Sounds

👋 Welcome to The AvA Connection. This is Warner. Connect with me here.

After leading some of the music industry’s most prominent marketing and promotions campaigns, Brooklyn-based industry veteran Joe Aboud launched 444 Sounds a leading music consultancy and management firm.

He has been behind marketing releases for Jungkook, SAINt JHN, Sony, UnitedMasters, Erika Jayne (yes, the Real Housewife), Julia Fox, Enrique Iglesias, and more. Oh and the Dalai Lama!!

He previously spent time working directly under L.A. Reid @ HITCO, Atlantic Records, and Apple Music in the early days.

Our conversation is below.

Today’s read time: 4 min

Not a subscriber yet and want this newsletter in your inbox every week? 

Quick Hits:

Concert Venues Accuse Yelp of Pushing Fake Tickets

Ticket marketplace platform TickPick has secured a $250 million investment. Their promise? Eliminating fees - claiming they’ve saved customers over $180 million in the past 3 years.

The Call Log: Joe Aboud, Founder of 444 Sounds

AvA: How did you get your start in the music industry?

Aboud: I grew up passionate about the idea of working with artists, but I had no industry connections. Winning a radio contest to a major record label showcase in NYC led me to meet a label rep who took a chance on me in high school and offered me an internship. At 15, I was able to gain invaluable experience and affirm that I was on the career path I wanted to follow. Learning that at a young age allowed me to be laser-focused on hustling and taking the steps I needed to make a name for myself in the business. 

AvA: You jumped from roles at Apple, Atlantic Records and HITCO to the world of entrepreneurship by starting 444 Sounds. Can you talk about your motivations around that move?

Aboud: Starting my own company wasn’t something I planned on doing. As a strong Type A personality, I had enjoyed the stability of working for a company. But when I consulted for Concord to manage the acquisition of the last label I worked at, HITCO, I was starting to receive multiple requests for my involvement in other projects as a consultant. I soon realized that my skill set had put me in a position of being able to help fill gaps in clients’ businesses and I decided to lean into the ‘pull’ of the marketplace. It was the first time I feel I’ve truly ‘let go’ of control in my career, let the journey guide me, and it’s been the best decision I’ve ever made. 

AvA: Define 444 Sounds in a sentence.

Aboud: 444 Sounds is a boutique artist/label services & management firm dedicated to artist development, growth and fan building. For anyone wondering, the angel numbers 444 signal direction, support and insight – messages woven into the company fabric as indicators of positive things to come! 

AvA: In your eyes, what is the biggest threat to the music industry in the next 5 years and how are you set up to navigate it?

Aboud: To me, the increasing access to making, distributing, and promoting music is a double-edged sword. It’s so great that independent artists now can now create and release music from their bedroom, but at the same time, it means that there’s a lot of mediocre music clogging up the airwaves and people’s newsfeeds and timelines.

As a boutique company focused on artist development & fan growth, our team of experts provide artists with 1:1 feedback and support. Focusing on a smaller roster of clients allows us to help enhance the quality of content being released and guide artists on the most effective use of their resources, especially their time and finances.

AvA: How important is networking to career growth in our industry?

Aboud: Relationships are vital in this industry. We all want to work with people we actually like. But networking can feel exhausting when you’re always getting asked for something - a favor, a job referral, an introduction... especially when you work with celebrity talent. 

I like to think of myself as a connector, and I’ll introduce people that I think should know each other and could have synergy in friendship or in business. I’ve found that as a result of putting that intentional energy into relationships, people are also introducing and referring me to people they think I should know. This has created a strong network in my professional life that keeps my name top of mind for clients and partners. 

AvA: Most memorable project you've worked on?

Aboud: Probably The Dalai Lama. Working with such a revered spiritual leader to bring his mantras to life via music was a really special experience.

Another was working with a singer-songwriter named MILCK. We put out a song called “Quiet” which became the anthem of the Women’s March and it was really cool to see women all over the world rally together around this powerful record. We started a charitable fund around it and it felt great to work on music that was meaningful in a social & political context. 

AvA: One piece of advice for someone wanting to launch their career in the music industry?

Aboud: You have to be a hustler. Keep your head down, work hard, and have a good attitude while doing it. Put intention into building authentic, and not transactional, relationships. Trust your gut and take a gamble on yourself when the opportunity presents itself. 

What do you find most valuable about The AvA Connection?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Want this newsletter in your inbox every week?

This newsletter is written by Warner Bailey and edited by Riley Furey

Get in touch! Email us at [email protected].

Want to partner with us and reach 20k+ music and entertainment professionals? Email [email protected]