The Industry Connection

Interview with "Veli" Udo-Utun: Philly-Based Music Manager and Promoter

đź‘‹ Happy (Summer) Friday, and welcome to The Industry Connection. Today’s newsletter features an update on the financial burden of the ongoing strike, a tree trimming saga at Universal, and an interview with a Philly-based artist manager and concert promoter.

Special shout out to Variety for the feature last week!

Today’s read: 4 min

Not a subscriber yet? Subscribe here

🎙️ Interview with Imowo “Veli” Udo-Utun, Founder of Veli Brand & Partner of Sounds Music Group

I sat down with Imowo Udo-Utun, known as Veli, who is a Philadelphia-based entrepreneur, music executive, and artist manager. Currently, he’s a Partner at Sounds Music Group where he has been part of a 4x platinum record, 2x platinum record, 1 platinum record, three gold records, and a gold album.

In addition to Sounds Music Group, Veli built his own company putting on live shows in the Philadelphia area. Eventually, Veli Brand was born, centering around the mission of finding "who's next" artists and bringing them to cities for their first shows. This led him to book many top selling and GRAMMY-nominated artists such as Rod Wave, Da Baby, Lil Tjay, $not, PNB Rock, Luke James, YBN Cordae, Rico Nasty, Iann Dior, 24KGoldn, Tierra Whack, Cam'ron, among others. Our conversation is below:

AvA: How did you get started in the music industry?

Veli: I was a sophomore in college and realized that college basketball was not getting me anywhere. I’ve always been someone who thinks ahead; so I felt it was important to figure out what I wanted to do while I was still in college so that once I graduated I would be ahead of the game. I was a business major, so I knew I wanted to do something in business - I was just unsure of what. My best friend at the time was an artist and even though I knew nothing about management, I wanted to take a chance on it due to my major. This was in the spring of 2013, and that fall I quit basketball to focus on music.

I got my start doing concerts when I had tried to book my artists for local shows and realized there weren't many platforms for them to succeed on - that’s when Veli Brand was born. What started as small local showcases, giving new artists a chance to perform; turned into a nationwide concert and touring company which booked a plethora of grammy nominated and platinum selling hip hop & R&B artists.

AvA: What are some things artists can do to set themselves up for long-term success? 

Veli: Learn the game, and understand the brand they want to develop and who they want to be. The best artists understand how to utilize the internet and know how they want their brand portrayed.

AvA: As an artist manager, how can you continue to bring value to the artists you represent? 

Veli: Be someone who lives, eats, and breathes the same dreams the artist has. Do everything in your power to help you both achieve the goals you all set out to do.

AvA: What is one piece of advice you have for someone just getting started in the industry?

Veli: Be a sponge, be a hustler, and be patient.

🧽 Sponge - soak up as much info as you can. From interviews, podcasts, articles, mentors, etc from people you aspire to be like - learn the good and bad they speak on and form your own values and move accordingly. Note - you don't have to know someone personally for them to mentor you. You can study their social media, interviews they do, moves they make for themselves/clients, and learn from them from afar.

⚙️ Hustler - you have to outwork the room constantly and consistently. Find ways to get things done even when all of the doors seem to be shut. Whatever it is you aspire to do in the business - hard work will likely be the first thing that begins to separate you.

⏳ Patience - this dream can take 1 month, 6 months, 2 years, 5 years, 10+ years, and so on. It’s important to stay patient and humble. Do not chase the money. If you are money driven - especially early on - you can burn out quickly. If you really love something, you’ll go broke chasing the dream of it. You can always supplement the money part of the grind by having multiple/other streams.

🧠 Veli’s documentary and book recommendation:

📺 “Who The F**k Is Arthur Fogel?”. When I first got into touring, Arthur Fogel is who I looked up to.

📖 “You Can Negotiate Anything”. This booked changed my mindset and helped me understand that I can truly have anything I want.

đź‘‹ Thanks for reading. Have a great weekend, and see you next week!

-Warner from the AvA Team

Have an open job to fill? Someone you think we should interview? Feedback? Respond to this email or reach out to us on IG @AssistantsVsAgents

Want this newsletter in your inbox? Subscribe here

Click the image below & use code “Guestlist?” for 10% off of our merch store!