The Industry Connection

Interview with Kevin Shivers, Partner & Agent at WME

đź‘‹ Welcome to The Industry Connection. This week we hear from Kevin Shivers, who is a Partner, Agent and co-head of Hip-Hop/R&B at WME. We discuss his path from mailroom to Partner, working with Tyler, the Creator on Camp Flog Gnaw, upcoming music from Kali Uchis, Vince Staples and a brand new festival this November.

Today’s read: 5.5 Minutes

Not a subscriber yet and want this in your inbox every week? 

Interview with Kevin Shivers: Partner, Agent and co-head of Hip-Hop/R&B at WME

Kevin Shivers is one of the biggest Agents in Hip-Hop. His roster includes Tyler, the Creator, Kali Uchis, Vince Staples, Lil Baby, Snoop Dogg, Kid Cudi, Summer Walker, Blxst, and many more. Check out his whole roster here because it’s too lengthy and impressive to type out.

Shivers is a prime example of working hard and rising through the ranks. 15 years after joining the mailroom, he is now a Partner and co-head of Hip-Hop/R&B at WME.

He is also one of the nicest people in the music industry, has been a mentor to many, and opened doors for many more. It has been said that Kevin answers every email he receives, and I’m certainly glad he answered mine for this interview.

Our conversation is below:

AvA: How did you get first involved in the music business?

Kevin Shivers: I went to film school at the University of Texas, because I wanted to be a producer. After school, I came out to LA and interned, then took a job at this small film company. I love movies, but I was absolutely terrible at my job, and did not like reading scripts all day.

One year I drove a golf cart on a studio lot and I met these agents, and I asked “do you get paid for this?.” They were like “yeah, well, you get paid to go to music festivals!”

So that always stuck in the back of my head, and I used to call or email the William Morris Agency every Monday for six months for a job. They didn't get back to me until I was on the phone with Charles Attal one day and I was like “hey, I'm trying to get a job at William Morris, do you know anybody?”

20 minutes later I got a job. When I walked through the doors on the first day, I thought to myself “this is where I want to be forever.”

AvA: Did you start in the mailroom?

Shivers: I was in the mailroom for eleven months, worked for Brian Edelman for two years and Marc Geiger for two years after that… both great guys. Edelman taught me that the job is important, but life is more important. Geiger taught me how to do the job: what systems to use, how to think, how to be an agent.

AvA: What is the role of an agent?

Shivers: You’re a point person for the client at the agency, and especially with a place like WME, you can take them around the Endeavor flywheel and open up opportunities in film, TV, movies, fashion, whatever they can dream up. I always tell clients that we can get you in the room, and I don’t know if you're going to get the job, but we can set you up in the best possible way. I always tell my assistant that we're in the service business. We're there to service people and we're there to make sure that the little stuff gets done.

AvA: Have the role of an Agent evolve during your career?

Shivers: There’s just more opportunity. There are more artists out there because of social media and streaming, but there are also more opportunities. When I first came to WME, The current festival landscape did not exist, and now there are festivals all over the world you can go play. There more opportunities with brands for endorsement deals. Artists have more power than ever before.

Kali Uchis shared a teaser for her highly anticipated album, OrquĂ­deas (kaliuchis/Instagram)

AvA: Who should we be looking out for on your roster?

Shivers: Next year Blxst is coming out with a new record that should be exciting. Vince Staples has a TV show in the works and new music. Kali Uchis just announced a Latin record coming at the top of the year. Mustafa is a guy who I think is very special, and when he puts out music it's going to be exciting. I try to only sign people that I truly love that have a unique voice and a unique point of view in the music and arts.

AvA: What is it like working with Tyler, the Creator?

Shivers: I've been working with Tyler for over a decade. He's a true professional, a gentleman and a scholar. He is a muse. He knows more about music than anybody I know.

I had the luxury of spending time with him in London at an all-night music session with him, and he's just a great human being.

What he's built with Camp Flog Gnaw has been very, very beautiful. I was in the room when he first talked about wanting to build a carnival and he built it. It's just a beautiful thing every year. I mean this year IT sold out without a lineup right? Then Tyler, Ellen at AEG, and Christian & Kelly Clancy all delivered with a great lineup.

He's one-of-one. I've never met a greater human than Tyler..

Image via Getty/Erika Goldring

AvA: You also have the inaugural Honeyland Festival in Sugar Land, TX on the same weekend in November. What impact do you see that festival having?

Shivers: Honeyland was an idea that came out of a conversation that I had with Endeavor President and COO Mark Shapiro one day about how our company should develop a black BottleRock. We worked with IMG and Live Nation Urban to bring an elevated festival experience with great food and music to Black people.

The festival takes place in Houston, a great city rich with Black culture and where the festival market isn’t saturated. I think it's going to be an excellent event.

Credit: Honeyland via Instagram

AvA: How important is mentorship to you?

Shivers: The best thing about WME is the young people. I always try to do whatever I can to help anyone at a young age, especially people on my desk, maneuver through the company or figure out what they want to do in life. I had many people that helped me along the way that still mentor me. The beauty of life is about giving back, and I love seeing people shine.

AvA: What is one piece of advice you'd give to someone just starting out in the business?

Shivers: Just say yes. Somebody asks you to go to a show? Say yes. Somebody asks to go to dinner? Say yes. Your boss says we need somebody to move to London? Just go. You’re young and there is a lot of power in saying yes. Don't be afraid to fail.

 đź§  Kevin’s Book Recommendation: Four Thousand Weeks

Want this newsletter in your inbox every week?

👋 Thanks for reading this week’s newsletter and see you next week!

This newsletter is written by Warner Bailey (connect with me here). Edited by Malik Figaro. 

Get in touch! Email us at [email protected].

Want to partner with us and reach 11k+ music and entertainment professionals? Email [email protected].